Monticello Railway Museum

2019 Events

We have several special events planned for 2019 at the Monticello Railway Museum. Regular train service also operates Saturdays and Sundays from May through September – see the schedule for details. Different fares may apply to special events.

Throttle Time
You can be the engineer of our train!
Dates: Saturday, April 27; Saturday, October 12; ; and many Saturdays from May 4 through September 29, 2019.
401 in Steam
Ride behind our restored 1907-vintage steam locomotive!
Dates: Saturday, May 18 and Sunday, May 19; Saturday, June 22 and Sunday, June 23; Saturday, July 20 and Sunday, July 21; Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18; Saturday, October 5 and Sunday, October 6, 2019.
School DaysTuesday, May 7 and Wednesday, May 8, 2019.
An opportunity for school children to ride a full-sized diesel-powered train.
Mother's Day WeekendSaturday, May 11 and Sunday, May 12, 2019.
Make this Mother's Day special by treating Mom to a relaxing ride with her family on our vintage train. Moms ride FREE when accompanied by their children!
Father's Day WeekendSaturday, June 15 and Sunday, June 16, 2019.
Dads ride FREE when accompanied by their children!
Fireworks SpecialTuesday, July 3, 2019.
See the Monticello fireworks without worrying about traffic.
Railroad DaysSaturday, September 21 and Sunday, September 22, 2019.
Come enjoy UNLIMITED rides on our vintage passenger and freight trains and motor cars running on our former Illinois Central and Illinois Terminal trackage, enjoy kids' games and more!
The Polar Express™
Read along with the story as the train makes its round-trip journey to the North Pole.
Dates: To be announced by the end of April.
Lunch with Santa on the TrainSaturday, December 1 and Sunday, December 2, 2019
Enjoy a visit with Santa Claus while eating a kid-friendly sack lunch. This event is hosted by the Monticello Chamber of Commerce.

NOTE: Due to the need for more capacity for the overwhelmingly popular Polar Express™, the Ghost Train will not be held for the foreseeable future.