Monticello Railway Museum

Experience riding behind our recently restored 1907 Southern 2-8-0 steam locomotive #401! 401 runs about once a month during our regular operating season.

Ticket prices are increased when 401 is pulling the train, as steam costs much more to operate than diesel — on an average day 401 goes through about 300 gallons of oil and 5000 gallons of water! Thanks for your understanding, and we look forward to seeing you.

2019 Steam Weekend Schedule Buy Tickets

Saturday, May 18 and Sunday, May 19, 2019
Saturday, June 22 and Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, July 20 and Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, October 5 and Sunday, October 6, 2019

Departures

Saturday Departures
Museum SiteDowntown Monticello
Nelson CrossingWabash Depot
11:00 AM11:30 AM
12:30 PM 1:00 PM
2:00 PM 2:30 PM
3:30 PM* 4:00 PM
Sunday Departures
Museum SiteDowntown Monticello
Nelson CrossingWabash Depot
12:30 PM 1:00 PM
2:00 PM 2:30 PM
3:30 PM* 4:00 PM

* no return trip to downtown

Steam Weekend Fares

All fares sold are round trips

Adults$14.00
Senior Citizens (62 and older)$12.00
Children (2 through 12)$9.00
Children (under 2)Free (with adult fare)

Please note that schedules, fares and equipment are subject to change at the Museum's discretion.